Whats Cooking: Alfredo Sauce

20130209-194224.jpg
I’ve been gone for the past week due to the passing of my furry friend – Onyx Marie.  She was a part of our family for 16 years and due to age and health matters had to be put down Super Bowl Sunday.  Although I knew it was the right thing to do it all hit me pretty bad and I just didn’t want to do much of anything but cry, eat, and cry some more.  She will be greatly missed but we know she is at peace.  I did try out two new recipes this week for despite my depressed feelings I had to function and feed everyone.

20130209-194126.jpg
Homemade Alfredo Penne With Peas and Carrots – So I attempted to make my own alfredo sauce based on a few recipes I noticed online…butter, heavy cream, shredded romano, shredded parmesan, salt/pepper.  Now the heavy cream was kind of thick so I wonder if that had part of the cause of it not being creamy… else I’m thinking I put to much cheese.. (Yeah I really didn’t want to cook so I didn’t feel like measuring anything).  It tasted great just thought it would be like what I see in a jar 🙂

20130209-194137.jpg

Valentines Party – finally took place earlier today and for the most part it was a success.  I didn’t dare attempt to make the heart shaped fruit kabobs but just used the chunks that our lovely grocery cut 🙂  I did make the heart-shaped sprinkled cookies though.. And the kids liked their mailboxes and had fun making valentines.  I totally forgot to get a picture of the mailboxes all lined up BUT will try to remember to take a picture of the girls…

We a few new recipes to try this upcoming week which include – homemade egg rolls, taco pot pies, greek meatballs with orzo, and salmon/bok choy.  What are you cooking?

Leave a Reply

