What’s cooking: Chicken Parmesan, Poke Cake, and Quiche

An interesting week of successful and failed recipes.. I’m only showing the ones that went good..BUT I will say that after a messed up attempt at fried rice I learned what needs to take place and plan on trying it again this coming week…

20130302-195016.jpg

Banana Pudding Poke Cake — I saw this recipe on a Pinterest site and just had to try it out since I love banana pudding.  I used soy milk for our pudding and hmmm forgot to leave the pudding layer after getting it in the poke holes 😦  But it still tasted GREAT and will definitely make it again.  You can get the actual recipe here, and while there you will notice other interesting ones to try.

20130302-195043.jpg

Chicken Parmesan Muffins – I like the muffin style meals!  I love eggplant parm and the girls like chicken parm so thought I would try this recipe when I saw it.  Rather than serving it with noodles I did mashed potatoes which was a new twist.  My oldest said they were a little salty and that I didn’t put enough cheese…

20130302-195051.jpg

Black Bean Taco Ring – I didn’t use a recipe for this for I’ve seen these things before and just wanted to experiment for taco night.  I only used 8 crescent triangles since we don’t have a pizza stone right now.  The girls ate majority of it so reckon it was a success.  I will say that I used the crockpot to make the beans which saved me soaking and boiling.

20130302-195059.jpg 20130302-195110.jpg

Bacon Egg and Cheese Mini-Quiches – I have been wanting to try a quiche but didn’t want to make a big one so when I saw these minis I had to try it out. They turned out pretty good and served with a fruit salad, BUT my oldest was not a fan so not sure if I’ll be making them anytime soon. Maybe I will try a big one for a special holiday brunch.

So what have you been cooking this week? I have a few recipes planned next week so hopefully they are a success.. I want to try making a crockpot recipe so if you have a suggestion please post a comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

