What’s Cooking: Burrito skillet and Cheesy Orzo

Once again there was no trip to the farmer’s market today 😦  But thankfully I was able to catch some deals at the grocery stores.  I really didn’t cook many new items this week due to meal requests by the girls and we had a school family night. But what I did whip together was a success.

20130806-200255.jpg
Quick Fix Burrito Skillet

I saw this recipe in an email last week from Kraft and knew I had to try it soon. Mexican is a favorite in this house but have to be very careful on what try with Little K for sometimes she does not like beans. Naturally, I made modifications by using ground turkey, freshly cooked black beans (all had at the house), and my own mix of cumin and chili powder. The meal lives up to the title of “quick-fix” for it did not take long to take and the girls definitely liked the meal – it’s a keeper.

20130806-200555.jpg
Cheesy Broccoli/Cauliflower Orzo

So I decided to experiment with a side dish this week and seeming that I had some tricolor orzo in the cabinet. I basically took the same approach that I do when I make cheddar broccoli rice EXCEPT I watched my time for boiling the orzo for I did not want it to be overcooked. Big K liked it and Little K was in a no eating mood — she did not even touch the fish.  Now I know you see the bagged vegetables — there was not a good selection of vegetables at the grocery and I had a coupon for the bag 🙂  I’m providing the recipe BUT remember my disclaimer of not being a measurer.

Cheesy Broccoli/Cauliflower Orzo

TriColor Orzo
Fresh Broccoli/Cauliflower
Cheddar Cheese and Parmesan Cheese
Olive oil, Butter, Salt/Pepper
 
  1. Boil water with a sprinkle of kosher salt and olive oil
  2. Put the orzo in the boiling water  turning down the heat to a medium heat
  3. After three minutes, add the vegetables and let cook for no more than another three minutes
  4. Drain the water from the pot and return to stove at a low heat
  5. Add some butter and stir; Add cheese in intervals to allow for you to stir/mix the cheese in
  6. Add salt/pepper to taste

With Big K returning to school in a matter of days, I will have some new recipes I want to try including homemade granola, muffins, stir fry, and a slow cooker side.  So what’s cooking at your house?

blogSignatureNew

Leave a Reply

