Cooking

What’s Cooking: Bbq meatloaf and pretzel dogs

Do you enjoy the recipes highlighted in my What’s Cooking posts?  Or do you have a recipe you would like me to try?  Take time to comment below your thoughts or recommendations!

I hope everyone enjoyed their 4th of July weekend!  I know me and the girls enjoyed spending time with family and watching the US Women win the FIFA World Cup (btw I LOVE soccer).  I did not do any cooking today and quite honestly I am not sure how much I will get done this week for we have to go out of town in the middle of the week.  I did try two recipes this week…

Can You Stay For Dinner Honey Barbecue Meatloaf

Honey Barbecue Meatloaf –  The girls were craving some bbq and wanted some meat for dinner so I tried a recipe from the blog Can You Stay For Dinner.  It is just like making a normal meatloaf you just incorporate bbq sauce and honey versus ketchup.  I typically do not cook much read meat so this loaf is made with turkey.  The girls loved it paired with my famous mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus.  It is a summer recipe to keep.  Give it a try.  (Family rating:  👍 👍 👍)

Slow Roasted Italian Homemade Pretzel Dogs

Homemade Pretzel Dogs –  One of the mid-week days was nothing but rain and we just begged on the couch watching tv-shows and movies.  Well I thought it would be fun to make a snack-style dinner which required hot dogs and a recipe by the Slow Roasted Italian.  They were a hit with the girls BUT mommy was not a fan of making the dough to wrap the dogs.  Since I don’t have a stand mixer, I had to make the dough by hand which took much longer than expected.  The first couple of dogs did not turn out like I desired but the remaining ones were fluffy and wrapped perfectly.  I do intend to make these again but I might try pre-made dough to see if works easier.  Try it out.   (Family rating: 👌 👍 👍)

Take time to let me know your thoughts or suggestions for future recipes in the comments!

newSignature

Leave a comment